Connect with us

Redshirt Tracker: Master Teague III, Brian Snead lead Ohio State 2018 class against Oregon State

ohio state-oregon state-redshirt tracker-class of 2018
Buckeyes tight end Jeremy Ruckert recorded his first catch as a Buckeye Saturday. (Photo and graphic by Birm/Lettermen Row)

Ohio State Football

Redshirt Tracker: Master Teague III, Brian Snead lead Ohio State 2018 class against Oregon State

Ohio State and acting head coach Ryan Day seemed to be testing the waters on the new NCAA redshirt rules Saturday against Oregon State.

Under the new rules, a player can take part in a maximum of four games at any point in the season and still maintain their redshirt status. Saturday against the Beavers, 16 members from the class of 2018 appeared for the Buckeyes and played key roles on both the offensive and defensive sides of the ball.

Running backs Master Teague III and Brian Snead stood out in Ohio State’s 77-point outburst, combining for 81 yards and two touchdowns Saturday. Snead entered the game before Teague, which came as a surprise after Teague made an impression in the spring.

Tight end Jeremy Ruckert also made his debut for the Buckeyes, recording 1 catch for 13 yards.

For the Silver Bullets, a handful of freshmen played and provided an extra boost to an already loaded defensive line. Tyler Friday, Antwuan Jackson and Tyreke Smith all racked up one tackle each while Taron Vincent and Tommy Togiai kicked off their Ohio State careers with two and three tackles, respectively.

**A full redshirt report according to Ohio State’s box score from the win Saturday can be found below.

Player NamePositionParticipation vs. TCUGames Played
Tyler FridayDEDid Not Participate2
Dallas GantLBDid Not Participate2
Javontae Jean-BaptisteDEParticipated; No Statistics2
Antwuan JacksonDTDid Not Participate2
Teradja MitchellLBDid Not Participate2
Chris OlaveWRParticipated; No Statistics3
Jaelan GillH-BDid Not Participate1
Nicholas Petit-FrereOLDid Not Participate2
K'Vaughan PopeLBParticipated; No Statistics3
Josh ProctorSDid Not Participate2
Jeremy RuckertTEDid Not Participate2
Tyreke SmithDEDid Not Participate2
Brian SneadRBDid Not Participate2
Master Teague IIIRBDid Not Participate2
Tommy TogiaiDTDid Not Participate2
Taron VincentDTDid Not Participate2
Alex WilliamsDEParticipated; No Statistics2

*Freshmen who did not play: Kamryn Babb (injured), Matthew Baldwin, Sevyn Banks, Jaelen Gill, Marcus Hooker, Tyreke Johnson, Matthew Jones, L’Christian “Blue” Smith, Max Wray

**The participation report is subject to review and verification by the program.


Nick is the producer at Lettermen Row. Born in Dayton, Nick recently graduated from Ohio State where he worked for The Lantern and the College of Veterinary Medicine. He also knows the city of Columbus and its love of sports well after interning with Columbus Crew SC and WBNS-10TV during his undergraduate education.